Real Crime Blog

Poe Would Be Proud: 2017 Edgar Awards Winner List

Which are the best recent mystery stories in America? Well, according to the Mystery Writers of America at their 71st gala last month, the winners of the 2017 Edgar® Awards, (named after consummate writer and raven aficionado Edgar Allen Poe), are:

Best novel: Noah Hawley’s Before the Fall. The suspenseful story of the survivors of a suspicious plane crash fittingly comes from Hawley, who is the award-winning creator of the super creepy TV show Fargo.

Best first novel: Under the Harrow by Flynn Berry. The psychological thriller follows a woman who can’t stop looking into her sister’s brutal murder.

Best non fiction true crime book: The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer by Kate Summerscale and the biography Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life by Ruth Franklin.

Best TV episode: John Logan’s Penny Dreadful (Showtime) script “A Blade of Grass.”

But, don’t just take our word for it. If you are really, truly, seriously in need of some must-see and must-read scariness suggestions, visit the Edgars’ site for a full list of nominees and winners.

A&E’s Real Crime gets closer to the people and the stories behind the crime headlines.

(Image: Photo by Herbert Gehr/ The LIFE Collection/Getty Images)

Most Recent

Latest Full Episodes

Create a Profile to Add this show to your list!

Already have a profile?